L’Avventura

5 Mar

During a recent interview for the Armenian newspaper, Asbarez, I was asked to name the film that has most affected me as a filmmaker.  My reply was swift: L’Avventura (1960) by Michelangelo Antonioni. It proved to me that a movie can be art.

I once had the privilege to hear philosopher Dallas Willard discuss film.  He argued that a movie is either amusement, entertainment or art, and sometimes a combination thereof.  Many incorrectly translated his position qualitatively, though that was not his point.  He simply wanted to make a case for film as art.

Some of my favorite movies primarily amuse and entertain.  Nothing cheers me up like Sixteen Candles (1984) or Happy Gilmore (1996).  They touch me and affect me in ways art often does not.  But as a filmmaker, the movies I most connect with, the ones that inspire me greatly are definite works of art.  They are personally derived films without a set agenda or purpose.  Rather, they seek to explore the human condition and, maybe, make some sense out of it.

I believe Michelangelo Antonioni did not set out to amuse or entertain with L’Avventura.  It is my impression that he set out to explore specific aspects of life without a set conclusion.  In fact, the ending of the film, one of the most beautiful I have ever seen, suggests that Antonioni still had no conclusion to his questions, which invariably inspired his subsequent work.

Here is a link to Roger Ebert’s review of L’Avventura.

And here you can watch a clip from the film:

 

6 Responses to “L’Avventura”

  1. Tim March 16, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    Nice one, Chris. I will definitely queue this one up. I love the lines and balance. Impeccable.

    • Christopher March 16, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

      You won’t be disappointed. Just don’t pop it in at 1AM after a long day! LOL It takes some effort and focus…. Please let me know what you think after.

  2. Armig Matosian March 5, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    Wow! I’m def. picking this one up today. Are you going to be featured in Asbarez? When does the issue come out?

    • Christopher March 5, 2010 at 10:53 am #

      So good to hear, Armig. I don’t want to ruin the film for you with too much hype; however, it truly is a masterpiece. And I must warn you that it is quite languid with very little plot, so don’t watch it at 11PM after a long day! LOL

      Asbarez??? Yes, my interview will be in 3 – 4 weeks… I def will let you know!

      And please let me know what you think about L’Avventura!

  3. Chuck Norton March 5, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    I love this movie! I was sucked into the entire thing & left with my own questions at the end.

    We’ve had this conversation before about art vs entertainment vs amusement. I hope they don’t get seperated into different ‘genre’s of movies and have to agree that each film should be some sort of combination.

    Thanks Chris!

    • Christopher March 5, 2010 at 10:07 am #

      Thanks, Chuck. I think you’ll appreciate my post today on DVXUser.com in response to 3D: Check it out HERE.

Leave a Reply

