Introducing My Characters

9 Mar

After weeks of development, I can now introduce the primary characters of my film:

Bethany, a potted flower content with an occasional drop of water.  She deserves better, but won’t allow it.  Her greatest desire is to be loved, desperately hoping her ex-boyfriend, Rob, will return.  She is only 30 and already a top-notch hair stylist.  But she is stuck.  Rather than cultivate herself and go forth, Bethany ponders unanswerable questions.  Does he love me?  Is it my fault?  Should I call him?

Rob is a hunky Texan living in LA.  He can’t stand sushi and would never get a pedicure.  At age 33, he is the youngest sales manager for a booming Texas-based company.  There is no doubt Rob will one day be a millionaire.  His country boy charm off-sets his shrewd business sense.  Southern hospitality resides in his blood; he enjoys helping people with their needs, though he has no patience for whining or laziness.  He likes Bethany and enjoys being with her, but he does not desire the type of relationship she wants.

Alex is 35.  His dream is to be the Wolfgang Puck of hair: salons across the country and his own product line.  Clients love him.  Not only is he a master with the shears, but generous and kind as well.  He adores Bethany; they are the best of friends.  And since Alex is gay, romance has never come between them.  They work at the same hair salon and plan on owning one together someday.  But when the perfect opportunity arises, Bethany hesitates, clutching onto Rob.  Should Alex pressure her to move on or should he patiently wait for her?

Any thoughts, questions or comments???  I especially would love to know if you resonate with these characters or if they remind you of situations others have been in.  Please share…

 

6 Responses to “Introducing My Characters”

  1. Jason March 10, 2010 at 1:01 am #

    Alex seems a little perfect. Do you have any flaws planned for him? Actually, you don’t state it, but pride seems like it might be in the plan. Vanity would also be an easy one. Really there are a lot of great possibilities.

    • Christopher March 10, 2010 at 10:48 am #

      Great insight, Jason, thanks… Yes, I most definitely have a major flaw that I did not disclose in the brief bios. Let’s just say it deals with fear…. I think it was writer Robert Towne who said you know who your character is when you know what they fear most! And I definitely need to consider other flaws as well, like pride and vanity, which you suggest…..

  2. Miguel N. March 9, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    I already feel that Bethany is a nice person and Rob doesn’t deserves her. Alex sounds like a nice character. If Bethany is dry and quiet, somebody like Alex might be the only one to get Bethany to express herself without fear. At first I thought that the gay hair stylist is a little cliche, but it might not be that bad. It’s cliche but it is true too.
    Rob might be to busy on his own business to focus on Bethany’s feelings.
    Wait, I think I got it. Bethany doesn’t even love Rob, she just fears to be alone. Well, with the company of Alex, her world doesn’t look as bad.

    • Christopher March 10, 2010 at 10:43 am #

      Hummmm… A lot to think about. As far as Alex goes, yes, cliche but so, so true! And he’s not going to be stereotyped at all. When I write the script, I’m not going create a “gay” character. I simply was inspired by the countless gay stylists I personally have met and his sexuality will have nothing to do with his depiction…. And I really, really liked what you suggested about Bethany not even loving Rob. Hummmm, I’m going to really think about that one. Thanks…

  3. Armig Matosian March 9, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    Bethany sounds like a masochist. I like Alex, and I don’t like that Bethany is the one holding him back because of Rob. Bethany is indirectly “abusing” Alex, maybe a subconscious affect because her feelings/emotions are being “abused” by Rob. Poor guys.

    • Christopher March 9, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

      Interesting insight, Armig. Makes me wonder: aren’t we all a bit masochistic? And how does that effect the way we treat others, as you suggest? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

