Why Do Women Cling to Men?

26 Mar

Why do women cling to men? I know, that’s a gross generalization, but it seems many women have a hard time letting go of bad relationships.

Since high school, women have come to me with relational issues. Maybe I give good advice or perhaps I’m a good listener. I’m not sure. The point is that I’ve spent hundreds of hours with women discussing their relationships and 9 times out of 10, it’s about a problem they’re having. Consequently, I’ve become a quasi-relational expert with some good advice every now and then.

However, there is a situation that continually perplexes me: the on-and-off relationship syndrome. This is where a woman breaks up with a guy, then goes back, then breaks up, then goes back, and so forth. This syndrome is truly difficult to understand. In most cases, the woman can clearly articulate why she needs to stay away from the guy, yet she does not. It’s mind-boggling.

I’m not as interested in why this occurs to certain women as much as I’m interested in the effects on women. It kills me to see countless women waste time and energy on dead-end relationships. But what pains me most, what truly crushes me is the endless heartache, disillusionment and depression these women experience. And the irony is that they are doing it to themselves. They stubbornly remain hopeful and don’t let go.

My film is about such a woman. I will not propose any solutions to the problem nor will I pretend to understand what she is going through. Rather, I simply want to take a closer look, an intimate look at her and the effects of her situation. I don’t know what I’ll find, but one thing is for sure: I’m likely to walk away less judgmental.

Please comment and share your thoughts….

 

3 Responses to “Why Do Women Cling to Men?”

  1. Christopher March 26, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    Yes, “mutant” is an interesting take on it! And, like you Chuck, I also personally relate to the situation, but it’s the degree of hopefulness and back-and-forth I just have a hard time understanding.

    As I stated, many women in such a situation know they ought to get out, yet don’t…

  2. Chuck Norton March 26, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    I love issiedarling’s line “Mutant genetic predisposition.”

    My sisters & mom would so fit into this. However, I have to say that some dudes (maybe me included) would probably fit the bill to – just maybe not quite as often.

  3. izziedarling March 26, 2010 at 6:29 am #

    I don’t think “clinging” is the right word. I think it is a genetic predisposition to hopefulness. Mutant genetic predisposition.

Leave a Reply

