Does Music Effect Your Writing?

15 Apr

Do you listen to music while you write?

I’ve been wondering lately if the music I listen to while I write indirectly effects the content of my script.  Is this possible?

This is very important me, because, if the music I listen to does effect content, then should something similar be included in the finished film?  If I am visualizing a scene while listening to a specific song, then will the finished, edited scene be incomplete without the song?  Will a piece be missing?  For instance, I listened to one particular song over and over while writing the opening scene of my short film, First Light; however, there was no score in the film.

I’ve been listening to music while writing my current script. I usually listen to “Drone Zone” on SomaFM.com and my favorite band is Stars of the Lid.  Their music is very moody and puts me in the perfect mood for this particular project.  However, I am not sure if I will include music in my film.

So what do you think?  Does the music we listen to while writing indirectly effect content?  If so, is it best to include music in the finished film?

Here’s a video of Stars of the Lid performing live:


 

4 Responses to “Does Music Effect Your Writing?”

  1. Rae April 27, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    Absolutely put music in your film…At least some type of backing track weather it be life’s natural noises or a gorgeous thought provoking piece of music. Having no music in a film is like eating candy that doesn’t have a sweet or sour taste. :)

    • Christopher April 28, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

      Hey Rae. You’re totally correct. In the past, I’ve used ambient environment sounds as a soundtrack; however, I just might go with music this time. I’m just not so sure yet!

  2. Miguel N. April 15, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    Yeah. I think that music is great to put you in a certain mood while writing and it can affect the content of the film too.
    However, the use of music in a film serves a purpose and it is different than music for inspiration or mood.
    Personally, once I’m writing I get to a point where I ignore my surroundings and just listens to what it’s in my head.

    P.S. the Cuaron brothers said that they listened to Zappa’s “Watermelon in Easter Hay” in a loop while writing Y Tu Mama Tambien. The song is in the movie credits.

    • Christopher April 15, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

      That’s really interesting about the Cuaron brothers, Miguel. Hum…..

Leave a Reply

