The First Draft of My Script

22 Apr

The first draft of my script is now complete!  Though I’m quite tired, I feel really good and happy with the results.  In fact, due to a couple of factors, I actually finished ahead of schedule.  First, I spent a lot of time developing my characters and outlining the script prior to writing and, second, I forbid myself from editing as I wrote.

Knowing the characters well and having a solid outline prevented confusion as I wrote.  I knew who I was writing about and what they were doing.  My outline was a map, so to speak, thus, I faced no dead ends.  Rather than ending up lost and brainstorming a way out, I merely entered the scene and wrote what I saw and heard.

And forbidding myself from stopping to edit was absolutely freeing.  I kept my eyes on the road and put the pedal to the metal!  I avoided the temptation to continually stop and reword a sentence or a bit of dialogue.  And I didn’t care if I kept using the same adjectives or adverbs.  I simply wrote, going with the flow, without exiting the scene to mull things over.

Thus, instead of writing like a poet, I basically was a transcriber of what I saw and heard.  This pleasingly led to many surprises not included in the outline!

And the most exciting part is yet to come.  They say writing is rewriting and I absolutely love it.  I’m detail-oriented by nature, so I really enjoy reassessing sentences, words and phrases and even entire scenes.  I will post updates as I rewrite.

Here’s a sneak peek from my first draft:

 

6 Responses to “The First Draft of My Script”

  1. Susan Kim April 25, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    Awesome Chris!!! I want to see more! Congratulations on finishing the first draft of your script!!!

  2. Chuck Norton April 23, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    Congratulations Chris! That’s such hard work. It’s inspiring to me that you’re so diligent in doing what you set out to do.

    • Christopher April 23, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

      Thanks, Chuck. Much appreciated!!! And likewise!!!!

  3. Carrie April 22, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    Very cool – Congrats!!

    • Christopher April 22, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

      Thanks for the comment, Carrie. And I sure enjoy your updates! Keep up the great work…

Leave a Reply

