Weed Out Banality and Plant Authenticity

27 Apr

Last Saturday I printed out the first draft of my script and gave it a read.  Though I was  pleased overall, something bothered me, something left me quite dissatisfied.  As usual, I took Sunday off and woke up on Monday eager to tackle the issue head on.

After a few hours with the script, I still couldn’t nail down the problem.  I simply could not articulate what was bothering me, so I turned to my reading notes of Beauty in Photography by  Robert Adams and, in an instant, my issue with the script became clear.

Mr. Adams states that the artist must not be concerned about doing the “right thing,” but rather connect with what is uniquely theirs to explore without a need to reform.  Without realizing it, I attempted to make my script “right” by following conventional rules and technique.  This led to a script that felt somewhat contrived and inauthentic.

Additionally, I realized that I had judged my main character rather than merely explore her humanity.  Movies too often judge characters and pronounce moral platitudes.  I definitely did just that and it really bothered me.

Though I am quite happy with my script, it is now time to weed out banality and plant some authenticity.

An excerpt from Beauty in Photography by Robert Adams, Aperture 2005 (pages 68, 69)

Second Story Sunlight by Edward Hopper

5 Responses to “Weed Out Banality and Plant Authenticity”

  1. Chuck Norton April 29, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    Adams pic here is really great.

    Chris, you’re blog is great man. For reals..

    • Christopher April 29, 2010 at 10:56 am #

      Thanks, Chuck. I really appreciate it! And the pic is actually by Hopper… I love it!

      • Chuck Norton April 29, 2010 at 11:07 am #

        Um.. duh – it says so under the picture chuck. LOL. Thanks!

  2. Miguel N. April 27, 2010 at 1:43 am #

    First, congratulations for completing your script’s first draft.

    Second, you’re damn right about not being judgmental on characters. Too many times we’re worried about being right and follow conventions.

    It’s amazing how those words from Mr. Adams led you in the right direction. Wait, maybe there is no right direction, but that’s okay.

    • Christopher April 28, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

      Thanks, Miguel. It’s weird how I was judgmental instinctively. That really bugs me and I want to move on from that.

Leave a Reply

