This is Scary Stuff

6 May

As you may know, I’m in the midst of rewriting the first draft of my script and it’s been both enjoyable and nerve-racking.

Enjoyable because I can sense my script improving.  I wrote my first draft rather quickly, so I naturally infused it with cliché and trivialities.  Eliminating such content has improved the script tremendously and has given it focus.  I’ve also refined some complex dimensions in the plot, which will lead to a more effective film.

On the other hand, the rewrite process is literally waking me up at nights.  It’s basically on my mind throughout the day and night, so I continually wake-up around 4AM thinking about my script.  Because my mind is constantly engaged, it’s difficult to turn it off.  But that’s not all.  The truth is that I’m quite worried and fearful since this is my first feature film project.  In the end, I will have invested a lot of time and money into my film, making it quite a gamble.  And as anyone who has made a film knows, there are a lot of elements outside your immediate control that need to come together.

I think it was the pastor of Mosaic Church, Erwin McManus, who said you’re probably on the right track if you’re pursuing something that makes you afraid.  Well, let’s just say I got that criterion covered.

Here’s another sneak peek at my script:

 

 

2 Responses to “This is Scary Stuff”

  1. Mónica May 23, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    Wow, I’m the first one to comment this one :)
    As I already said to you it’s a little scary how I relate to the things you describe in your script.. and I don’t believe in coincidences. I believe it all happens for a reason, so I guess I found your blog for a reason.

    About the comment you left in mine I don’t speak spanish, which is diferent from portuguese, so I had to translate some words to understand what you were saying xD but it’s ok, I appreciate the effort.

    Good luck with your project.

    • Christopher May 23, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

      Thanks for the comment, Monica! I’m so happy you found my blog and have connected with it.

      And sorry about the Spanish mix-up! :)

Leave a Reply

