Our Footage Looks Great!

16 Sep

For some reason, after I’m done filming my movies, I wait awhile before reviewing the footage.

In the past, with my short films, I waited as long as three weeks before watching the footage.  I’m not sure why I do this.  Perhaps it’s nerves or maybe I’m just tired.  Nonetheless, I have begun watching our footage from Girlfriend 19 and I am very, very excited to say it looks fantastic!!!  Led by my cinematographer, Gavin Fisher, and production designer, Macha Suzuki, my team did an amazing job and I’m looking forward to showing it off…

Check out some snapshots of our footage below.  And please note: I will be posting a lot more in coming weeks along with comments and discussions regarding why I filmed the scenes the way I did.

Chris Ivan Cevic as Rob with Cassidy Brown as Bethany.

Bethany during one of five scenes at the park.

Bethany alone at night.

Danielle Louie as "The Other Woman"!

Cassidy Brown as Bethany taking a moment...

Guillaume Dabin-Pons as Alex during a dinner scene.

Cassidy Brown as Bethany during a morning scene.

 

9 Responses to “Our Footage Looks Great!”

  1. Josh October 1, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    Your footage looks great! Having seen your short films on vimeo, i’m really hanging out to see this feature. I do like aspects of the DSLR movement, but I’m glad you chose not to shoot on a 5D or something similar, I’m so tired of seeing DOF everywhere…here, I can actually see mise-en-scene. Also, may I just say, nice resource you’re building here.

    • Christopher October 1, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

      Thanks so much for the comments, Josh. I TOTALLY agree with you regarding the shallow DOF. I’m actually going to write a post about it soon, next week…. It really has gone overboard and I love what you said about being able to see the mise-en-scene – so true! Great to hear from you….

  2. Amir September 16, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    Wow….now they showed up..FANTASTIC! I like the park one the best….followed closely by the “morning scene”…this film is going to be great!

    • Christopher September 16, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

      Amir, wait until you see more park shots – simply stunning! Cassidy’s natural colors, i.e., skin, eyes, hair, are incredibly accentuated by the setting sun. It’s amazing… I’ll be posting more park stills in the future. In fact, I’m probably going to dedicate a post to the park scene alone.

  3. Amir September 16, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

    Man, why can’t I see anything….time for a new Mac..lol…I’m gonna have to check them out on another computer, I’m excited to hear that Chris is pumped by what he has seen!

  4. Rae September 16, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    Ahhhh!!!! it looks incredible! I am blown away….seriously. I got chills.

  5. Miguel N. September 16, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    Yeah Chris it looks great. I like that I can see the difference between the night and day shots in the last two stills. I like the background in the night shot.
    Overall, great work.

    • Christopher September 16, 2010 at 10:10 am #

      Thanks, Miguel! Yeah, the night dinner scene is about as “cinematic” as I got in terms of the lighting. There are major differences throughout the scenes, so I’m excited to see how they all look together when we’re done!

Leave a Reply

