My First Year Coming to a Close

21 Dec

It’s been about a year since I launched FollowMyFilm.com and I must say that it has been immensely rewarding. My initial plan for the site was to merely update the progress of my first feature film, Girlfriend 19; however, I naturally began to share my thoughts and experience with film in general. Spurred on by encouraging comments and feedback, I wrote about a variety of relatively unspoken issues filmmakers commonly face.

The post which received the most feedback was Los Angeles Won’t Make Your Movie, which brings the deceptive nature of my hometown to light.  Many commented and affirmed my belief that coming to Los Angeles may not be the best move for an aspiring filmmaker.  Rather, it may be better to stay within one’s hometown and utilize connections, resources and an existing support structure.

I also wrote about the free gift all filmmakers need, but rarely receive: encouragement.  Although encouragement is an invaluable fuel filmmakers need to keep going, I rarely hear it mentioned or discussed in filmmaking books, seminars, etc.; I guess it’s too mushy a subject, but not for me!

It’s been a pleasure sharing my thoughts and hearing yours on FollowMyFilm.  I’ll be taking a couple of weeks off and will be back and running in 2011.

Once again, thank you and Happy Holidays and New Year!

– Christopher

4 Responses to “My First Year Coming to a Close”

  1. Graham Fisher February 5, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Happy New Year, Chris.

  2. Rae December 21, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    It has been a true pleasure to read & watch the movie unfold. So excited for the final product. Have a great vacay, u deserve it CJ! Happiest Holidays!

    • Christopher December 21, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

      Thanks, as always, Rae! And happy vacay to you too! :)

Leave a Reply

