Heidi Mehl Make-Up Marvel!

14 Apr

A director without a crew is a conductor without an orchestra – pointless!

In seeking crew members for Girlfriend 19, I had a lot against me.  To begin with, I am a first-time feature filmmaker, thus, I don’t have much pull.  Second, my budget was tiny.  As a result, I had to find talented crew members who are, like me, at the beginning stages of their career and eager for an opportunity.

Girlfriend 19 centers around a woman whose appearance is integral to the film, so, unlike most micro-budget films, I decided not to skimp out on a make-up artist.  Luckily, I was referred to Heidi Mehl through a professional reference.  She did not have much formal film experience, however, after meeting Heidi in-person, I knew she was perfect for our film.  Possessing the very rare combination of confidence and humility, Heidi not only believes in her ability, she is wholeheartedly willing to learn and improve as well.

 

Heidi applies make-up on Cassidy Brown, who plays Bethany, the lead role.

 

From day one, Heidi was open-minded and ready to take direction.  We often joked about my consistent request for “less make-up and more sweat!”  I personally like to see a bit of shine on actors and rather than fight me about it, Heidi trusted me and gave me sweat!

But what makes Heidi so invaluable is not her talent, it is her phenomenal personality.  Her spirit is entirely kind and gracious, a blessing on any film set.  She is a breath of fresh air and very fun to be around.  I look forward to working with her again!

Take a look at some snapshots from Girlfriend 19 boasting Heidi’s work.

5 Responses to “Heidi Mehl Make-Up Marvel!”

  1. Heidi Mehl April 22, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

    Heidi likes this! I loved working with you Christopher. See you on set for your next film =)

    • Sajib April 22, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

      You have a cool site there. Loved the background music.

    • Christopher April 24, 2011 at 12:09 am #

      Awesome! :)

  2. Sajib April 15, 2011 at 8:11 am #

    I can tell how difficult it can be to find a real talented person with not-so-high amount. I hope you got all the great crews. :)

    Today I was looking for your movie in IMDb as this site collects information about movies even before they are released. Found none. :(

    • Christopher April 15, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

      Hey, Sajib. Getting onto IMDb before the film is done is very difficult. I tried and they denied me, mainly because I am not operating under a well-established production company. However, once my film is done and send it off to a festival, IMDb will validate my film and give me credit! Thanks for checking!

Leave a Reply

