Much More Than Sleeping and Pooping

10 Jun

Sleeping, eating, pooping and lots of crying: that’s pretty much what my newborn son does all day.  Nonetheless, since his birth a month ago, Simon has definitely changed my perspective on things, especially my career.

Filmmaking is now much more than a personal venture; it is an extension of my fatherhood.  Not only must it provide financial support, but more importantly, my choices as a filmmaker directly influence Simon.  As a father-filmmaker, I am now modeling a way of living through my work.  Do I use my time wisely?  Am I respectful toward my collaborators?  Am I timid, afraid of risk or bold and daring?  Do my films offer a unique point-of-view or simply rehash hackneyed themes and clichés?  Do I embrace criticism and failure or accuse others of ignorance?  And ultimately, what do my films embody: authenticity, beauty, negativity?

As I continue onward, Simon will be watching not only my films, but the way in which I make them.  Though I naively did not anticipate this responsibility, I certainly am happy it now exists.  Simon has drastically raised the bar in my life and work, and I thank God for him every day.

4 Responses to “Much More Than Sleeping and Pooping”

  1. Susan June 10, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    What a beautiful post. Thanks for sharing chris. Simon is so wonderful! Can’t wait to meet him!

  2. Sajib June 10, 2011 at 2:22 am #

    He looks curious. :D

    I want to make shortfilms some day but I don’t know where to get started. First of all, I don’t have much of an idea for the story. And secondly, I can’t really afford to make a short film, at least not yet.

    Anyway, did you mean your father used to make films as well? Can you name a few movies your father directed? I’m just curious to check out.

    • Christopher June 10, 2011 at 9:21 am #

      I wish my father was a director, but he wasn’t. And you can totally make a short, Sajib. If budget is a concern (and it always is), then the tough part is coming up with a concept/story fits within your resources. That’s the key!!!

      I really hope you do it!!!

      • Sajib June 10, 2011 at 10:10 am #

        Thanks for your inspiration. Since I’m following your blog, you’ll be the first to review my short film if I ever come up with one. :)

Leave a Reply

