Girlfriend 19 Update 06.13.11

13 Jun

Girlfriend 19 is making excellent progress and I am very pleased with the results.  Naively, I initially thought the film would be completed sooner, but I forgot about the Fast-Good-Cheap triangle!

Like many things, a film cannot be made fast, good, AND cheap; you ultimately need to pick two sides of the triangle.  So if you want your film to be done fast and for cheap, then it’s probably not going to be good.

The budget for Gilfriend 19 is relatively tiny, thus, people are either volunteering their time or working on the cheap.  And, of course, I want my film to be good, so there is no way my film will be done fast.  It’s going to take time; a lot longer than I expected.  As a result, I unfortunately will miss deadlines for the Fall film festivals; however, our film will undoubtedly be ready to submit to the Winter/Spring festivals.

Our editing is completely finished, but we are still working on the score (music) and the sound design.  These elements are extremely important for any film and to rush through them is a major mistake.  And from what I’ve heard so far, it’s definitely worth the wait!

Thank you for your continued support and anticipation for Girlfriend 19.  I’ll have some cool stuff to share soon, so please stay-tuned and if you haven’t done so, subscribe to this blog via email for instant, easy updates!

– Christopher

6 Responses to “Girlfriend 19 Update 06.13.11”

  1. Mark Stolaroff June 20, 2011 at 4:14 am #

    Yeah, this is one of my “Write It Down Rules” in my No Budget Film School class (really shameless plug: which is back Aug. 20-21, 2011; http://www.nobudgetfilmschool.eventbrite.com ). I was always told it was attributed to Roger Corman, but if you think about it, that makes no sense, unless of course, he was picking Cheap and Fast. But of course in my class I like to suggest Cheap and Good!

    • Christopher June 21, 2011 at 9:50 am #

      You can shamelessly plug No Budget Film School on my site anytime, Mark – it’s awesome!

  2. Chuck Norton June 16, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    CB – is this your concept? Great drawing…. very thoughtful!

    • Christopher June 17, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

      My drawing, but not my concept! LOL It’s used a lot in the micro-budget filmmaking conversation, though I believe it’s a well-known economics concept in general…

  3. Sajib June 14, 2011 at 2:30 am #

    Learned a new thing. :)

Leave a Reply

