Nonsense?

2 Sep

An average filmmaker makes sense.

A good filmmaker makes no sense.

A great filmmaker makes sense out of no sense.

Agree or disagree?

4 Responses to “Nonsense?”

  1. Mark Stolaroff September 5, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    An average filmmaker makes sense. = Ron Howard

    A good filmmaker makes no sense. = David Lynch

    A great filmmaker makes sense out of no sense. = Christopher Nolan

    • Christopher September 5, 2011 at 10:16 am #

      Oh, man, Mark! This is a really, really tough one for me to concede to. Your inclusion of Lynch in the middle is a tough pill to swallow. It actually causes me to question my entire formula! LOL Hmmm…

  2. K.j. Farrington September 2, 2011 at 7:02 am #

    When Ornette Coleman hit the scene most everyone thought he was blowing jibberish, was nuts and couldn’t play. Except for Leonard Bernstein, who was at the Five Spot for Coleman’s NYC debut, and declared Coleman a genius. Sometimes an artist is driven to create art whose impulse even he may not fully understand, but he hears it, or sees it, and creates it, nonetheless.

    Raul Ruiz said, “If you can make something complicated why make it simple?”

    • Christopher September 2, 2011 at 9:38 am #

      I love stories like this, K.j. Thank you for sharing. It really encourages me to dig deeper within and blow the “jibberish” I need to be blowing. As you know, it’s so stinkin’ hard within the medium of film, since it has been dominated solely by rational, linear thought for decades. I definitely love narrative and actors, but I’m not sure where I fit in within that.

      But rather than put pressure on myself, I’m allowing myself to simply play on and find my style organically. I love what you wrote regarding the artist creating onward despite his own lack of self-understanding. Though it’s so stinking hard and I just don’t know why….

Leave a Reply

