My Dentist with a Carrot

25 Nov

Nobody has captured my burden as a filmmaker as well as my dentist did the other day.

Towering over me while I reclined in his chair during a routine check-up, my dentist asked how my work was going.  After bringing him up to speed, he slowed down, took a moment, and said, “It must be hard doing what you do: writing day in, day out…all without a carrot.”

I was blown away.  Of all people, my dentist perfectly captured the most challenging aspects of independent filmmaking: working on speculation.  This, by far, is one of my greatest burdens as an independent filmmaker.

The carrot metaphor has left me wondering: why isn’t there a carrot?  Or is there?  Will I ever get to it?  Or will it forever dangle in front of me?  Even worse: am I being an ass in need of a carrot to motivate me?

4 Responses to “My Dentist with a Carrot”

  1. Dentist Tucson AZ March 26, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    I can definitely see where the lack of financial security could be realy stressful. Ultimately though, if you’re doing something you’re passionate about, then you end up with a lot more motivation to keep going.

    • Christopher March 26, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

      Thank you for the comment, Dr. Wilson; I couldn’t agree with you more. Despite financial strain and insecurity, my faith in myself, my friends and family, and God has increased!

      I guess you have to have an empty vessel in order to witness it be filled, huh?

      Hope to hear from you again soon!

  2. Sajib November 25, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    My bad. Possibly because I’m not a native English speaker. What is your biggest burden as a filmmaker, again? :-?

    • Christopher November 26, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

      Hey, Sajib. The burden I’m speaking of is the lack of financial and professional security in independent film. So, as a filmmaker, I continually invest my time, energy and money into a project that has no guarantees. I realize there are no guarantees generally speaking; however, jobs with a paycheck week in, week out, come darn close.

      Thank you for the comment!
      cB

Leave a Reply

