It’s Been Tough

10 Dec

I’m not going to lie: life’s been tough…

My father’s recovery from open-heart surgery has been a lot more challenging for us, his family, than we ever imagined.  I’ve spent countless hours at his home to support not only him, but my mother as well.  And on top of that, I’ve been bombarded with quite a bit of negativity elsewhere in life.

This has been quite a blow to my productivity, which was recently cut in half to begin with, since I watch my son, Simon, on weekday afternoons.  Creative work amidst all these immediate pressures has been nearly impossible.

I write this not to garner pity nor compassion, but to share my hardships in addition to my successes and creative work.  Perhaps some of you have been in my shoes or are currently right there with me.  I’m not sure what it is that keeps me going, creatively, that is; nonetheless, I’m just very fortunate that I’m making a bit of progress regardless.

Thank you all, sincerely, for your support and interest in my work…

10 Responses to “It’s Been Tough”

  1. John December 13, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    Christopher,
    First-off, all the best to you and your family for the holidays.
    Secondly (WARNING – cliche and schmaltz alert) that time with your son (and family) is worth a million friggin movies. I think it’s also worth noting that you’re still being creative, despite the lack of ‘productivity’. You’re gaining life experiences and you’ve got your creative antennae up, living life and letting ideas percolate and grow and come alive – so when you actually do get the time to sit down and get to work, it’ll be like water flowing from the well. You’ve kicked ass this year, and made how many movies? Have faith. It’ll happen. We believe in you bro. Keep going.

    • Christopher December 30, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

      John, so sorry about the very late reply! I think you know that I was in the middle of America without the best technology for quite some time!

      I really appreciate your faith and support. And your wisdom sure rings true. In today’s high paced what-have-you-done-lately world, it’s hard to keep things in perspective, which is why I cherish comments like yours.

      Peace and keep me informed on your work!!!!

  2. Jim December 11, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    It’s clear that you have to be a bit of a maniac, a bit crazy to keep at creative work in the face of all of life’s demands. Juggling creative work and “life” is no less demanding than the high pressure corporate job, just less recognized by our culture.

    I think it’s key to understand “productivity” in a very broad way. There are times for schmoozing and shooting and times for contemplation of what’s important and what’s your message to the world.

    • Christopher December 11, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

      Great points, Jim. I especially appreciate your point regarding contemplation being productive as well – something I definitely need to accept in a much deeper way.

  3. Neeks December 10, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    Use that tension! Use it to write suspenseful pieces, dramatic lines, etc.
    I hope your father will continue to recover, my mother had a 3-way bypass about 3 years ago, it is a tough time! So difficult to watch them be in such pain. All the best to you and your family!

  4. Sharon Ewell Foster December 10, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Chris,

    My prayers are with you and your family, especially during the holiday season. If the encouragement of friends helps at all, hang in there, my friend.

    • Christopher December 11, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

      There is nothing more soothing than encouragement from friends. Thank you, Sharon, once again…

  5. Writer Jobs December 10, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

    • Christopher December 11, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

      Thank you for the encouragement :)

Leave a Reply

