The Acquisition of Peace

1 Feb

While researching historical figures for my current script, I recently came across Saint Seraphim of Sarov, an 18th/19th century monk and mystic canonized by the Russian Orthodox Church in 1903.

Saint Seraphim is thought to have said, “Acquire a peaceful spirit, and thousands around you will be saved.”

I was deeply struck by this quote personally and professionally.  Not only did I wonder what my life would look like with a “peaceful spirit,” I also wondered what a film would look like with a “peaceful spirit.”  

I’m not sure if a person or a film can intentionally save thousands; however, one can certainly strive to have a peaceful spirit.  And a filmmaker can certainly strive to create a film with a peaceful spirit.

2 Responses to “The Acquisition of Peace”

  1. Christopher February 1, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    Yes! A sense of peace is crucial during production – something I also strive for.

  2. Jim February 1, 2012 at 6:04 am #

    It’s a very good and somewhat unexpected kind of insight. I relate to the atmosphere during a shoot – if I’ve done a good job of pre-production, we are calm and focussed during the shoot. I always think of good planning as creating space for the art to happen.

Leave a Reply

