The Twitter Party

3 Feb

Twitter is like attending a gigantic party.

After making a great first impression with a catchy username and a snazzy home page design, you’re ready to engage in conversation – well, sort of.  You approach people by “following” them and “@ mentioning” them, but they might not respond and/or not follow you back.  (I’ve found, like most parties, it’s always hardest at the beginning, when no one really knows who you are.)

However, just because someone does follow you, that does not mean they are listening.  On Twitter, you need to continually engage in conversation, develop relationships and “work the crowd” to be heard.  So if you do not responding on a daily, hourly, even instantaneously basis, you’ll be left standing alone with drink in hand, bobbing your head to the music, talking to yourself.

Some folks can get away with one way conversation, mainly celebrities.  They often follow a select few, yet have thousands, even millions of followers.  However, most of us need to continually work the crowd and stay engaged.

That’s my main dilemma with Twitter; it never stops.  It’s an infinitely ongoing party and most people never take a break.  They attend on smart phones and other portable devices, attending the party wherever they go: on the road, at the movies, the bathroom.  This creates an unspoken expectation of immediate response.  Just like an in-person gathering, a slow response is anti-social (rude?), so people will walk away.

Twitter is an incredible, open-invitation to meet and connect with others; however, I’m not sure I have what it takes.  Not only am I without portable internet devices, I simply don’t have the time nor the energy.  If I’m not working on my current film project, I’m either writing a blog entry or, more importantly, I’m with my family.  It’s nearly impossible for me to stay engaged at the Twitter party.

If I was a celebrity, it wouldn’t matter, because I could just talk and talk while ignoring everyone; but, alas, I’m not.

4 Responses to “The Twitter Party”

  1. middleagedplague February 3, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    I like Twitter, but can you imagine being in an actual room at an actual party and hearing people quote and quote and quote and quote other people?

    Great way to get in the Tweets, but boring. Do people not have original thoughts of their own?

    • Christopher February 3, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

      Yes, it Twitter can really get redundant at times and definitely unoriginal. I have, though, come across some immensely helpful thoughts and links, so it really is a blessing and a curse to be there – like a real party? LOL

      Thank you for the comment…

  2. Nan February 3, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    You have described it perfectly, Chris. I try to use it, but still don’t get it. And I didn’t realize that people could respond to my tweets – I found this out the hard way, by realizing I hadn’t responded to someone six months after they had tweeted me back. If that is even the right lingo. Sigh. I’m with you.

    • Christopher February 3, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

      Six months? LOL That’s exactly what I’m talking about. There is software out there to help you navigate and stay engaged in the “party,” but that requires even more time to learn the software.

      I do get emails when someone mentions me in a tweet, so I’m guessing you should be able to as well. You may want to check your settings on Twitter regarding email notifications, kind of like Facebook.

      That’s totally the problem with on-line communication, including email: you might innocently miss something and if the sender does not give you benefit of the doubt, then you look like a jerk…

Leave a Reply

