Creative? You Must Watch This!

1 Mar

After making films for a few years, I have come to one definite conclusion: my mission is to make Christopher J. Boghosian films.

As a film artist, my primary goal is to create from a genuinely personal place, internally driven, not externally.  Though they play a role in this, I am not speaking primarily of emotion.  Creating from a personal place can mean many things, such as trusting  your instinct despite conventional wisdom.  It can also mean abandoning the desire to entertain for the sake of formalistic exploration and experimentation.

Most importantly, creating from a personal place ultimately means the creator him or herself is the only critic that matters.  Our art is a reflection of ourselves and the more truthfully we create, the more truthful our work becomes, something which only we can ultimately judge.

So I am striving to make Christopher J. Boghosian films, personal films that only I can make.  This has been my revelation over the last couple years and the only way I can do it is by working hard, making more and more films as truthfully as possible.

Please check out this video by David Shiyang Liu, which uses typography to highlight Ira Glass’ words on this subject.  It perfectly captures what I have come to learn and I hope you are inspired by it!

Thanks to my friend, Chuck Norton, for sharing this video with me and inspiring this post!

10 Responses to “Creative? You Must Watch This!”

  1. onfoodandfilm March 1, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    Great stuff. I heard this a week or so ago (sans type) and was moved by it. Failure sucks emotionally but few things improve our work other than initial failure.

  2. Mariam Almulla March 1, 2012 at 3:35 am #

    Reblogged this on Creative Mariam.

  3. nusantas March 1, 2012 at 2:23 am #

    Reblogged this on Nudisseny and commented:
    creative

    • eoinosullivan March 1, 2012 at 2:55 am #

      The film states that you will produce a lot of work that your not happy with before you produce any thing of worth. I would have to agree with this as I will not upload any material I have created to the internet as I fear it would reflect badly on me. Its not good stuff.
      What do you do with all the crap you produce before you make something good?
      Or you just meant to sit on it?
      Or do you promote stuff that you don’t even like your self?

      • Christopher March 1, 2012 at 8:48 am #

        Thank you for the comment!

        You know, even if work is “crap,” I believe it still has value. It may not wow the world; however, it still might be worth sharing. If there is something good in it, though it is not good in large part, then it’s worth sharing.

        And I especially like sharing the work if the idea is to keep friends and family up-to-date with your progress, so they can witness you improving.

        So I guess what matters most is with whom you are sharing!

      • eoinosullivan March 1, 2012 at 10:10 am #

        I am afraid that for me its hopefully future employers or colleagues. So my standards will have to stay relativity high.

      • Christopher March 1, 2012 at 10:35 am #

        That definitely makes sense. That’s the tough part about the internet: you never know who will see your work. And if they take it out of context, it may reflect very badly on you…

    • Christopher March 1, 2012 at 8:45 am #

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

