New Film Synopsis

26 Apr

I’ve been eluding to my next feature film project in recent posts and now it’s time to share what the heck it’s about! 

Our film is a love story that explores the beauty and enigma of two people being drawn together as they help one another overcome personal fears.  The main setting is a thriving Indiana grain farm where its lone occupant, a gruff widow named Eugenia, is bedridden due to a stroke.  Her estranged children leave her in the hands of Bernadette, a live-in caregiver who is as gifted at baking, as she is caring for the sickly woman.  Bernadette soon discovers another presence on the farm, Shane, Eugenia’s loyal, yet withdrawn farm hand.  As Bernadette and Shane work alongside one another on the farm, they discover that love is a phenomenon beyond their control, one that chooses them as much as they choose one another.

So there you go!  As I mentioned before, I recently completed the first draft of the script and am now rewriting.  I’m excited to share the process of making this film with you, everything from writing, to directing, to editing.  I’ll be posting a lot more frequently with questions, thoughts, and concerns you hopefully with comment on.

Here are a couple of photos visually exemplifying why I wanted to make my next film in Indiana…

Indiana Country Road

An Indiana country road in August. I have a few scenes in my script where characters ride along country roads...

Eagles Theatre, Wabash, Indiana

The beautiful Eagles Theatre in Wabash, Indiana, recently restored by the Honeywell Foundation. Not only is there a scene in my film set at the theatre, we also hope to premiere our film there in 2014!

18 Responses to “New Film Synopsis”

  1. Susan April 28, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    I love the photos! Keep the updates coming!

  2. Juli Jackson April 28, 2012 at 7:48 am #

    I can’t wait to hear more about the process. Way to go for shooting films in small towns! it makes such a worthwhile impact to small communities.

    • Christopher April 28, 2012 at 9:54 am #

      Thank you, Juli. I’m so BIG on shooting in small towns, where officials and locals tend to be more receptive, appreciative and supportive of independent film projects.

      Ironically, my hometown – LA – is one of the most inhospitable places for indies!

  3. onfoodandfilm April 26, 2012 at 7:46 am #

    Sounds great, can’t wait to keep up with it all. And Jim is right, ‘Sweetland’ is a terrific film, in some ways similar (but not too much!)

    • Christopher April 26, 2012 at 10:46 am #

      Thanks, Tom. And thanks again for your insight regarding my characters the other night. Hope you have a great time at Hill Country Film Fest…

  4. Jim April 26, 2012 at 5:29 am #

    interesting setup. I want to know what are the forces keeping your lovers apart? Is there a crisis involving the health of Eugenia which either forces them together or is a major blow to their relationship? I’m thinking of another midwestern indie film on a farm, which I loved, “Sweetland.” The couple comes together slowly and thru hardship.

    • Christopher April 26, 2012 at 10:53 am #

      Hi, Jim. Always great to hear from you! I will watch SWEETLAND soon – thanks for the lead. I remember you mentioned it once before and I failed to watch it, so I will definitely do so now.

      Regarding your question, the ultimate force keeping them apart is themselves, i.e., internal conflict. She is a servant who is unable to be served and he is a transient farmhand who fears being grounded. So they both are hesitant to fall in love, since that calls for commitment to another.

      Sooner or later, if you haven’t done so already, you’ll notice that I’m not a big plot/drama person. In other words, with my own work, I don’t enjoy creating too many external obstacles – it’s just not my thing. Rather, I enjoy hanging out with characters and seeing what they’re like internally.

      Of course internal character dynamics have external manifestations; however, when creating, I rarely start externally and work my way in.

      Unfortunately my preference does not lead to entertainment per se; however, if done well, it will connect with a certain audience demographic, what some call an “art house” crowd.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Huge Challenge!!! | Follow My Film - April 29, 2013

    […] my current feature film project, I am aiming to raise about $70,000 before July 2. It’s the biggest challenge of my life so […]

  2. A Haiku For My Film « Follow My Film - December 26, 2012

    […] developing a title for my current feature-length script, I came up with a haiku that captures its story rather […]

  3. What Makes a Great Movie Title? « Follow My Film - October 10, 2012

    […] title for my current feature film script is not jumping out at me. […]

  4. My Current Obsession « Follow My Film - October 4, 2012

    […] current feature length script is a love story that takes place on an Indiana farm.  So, as you can imagine, I have been […]

  5. Stay the Hell Out of the Way! « Follow My Film - October 2, 2012

    […] has been my experience lately while writing my current feature film script.  Don’t get me wrong, I end up in the way quite often, but more and more, I am able to […]

  6. Indiana Feature Film Teaser Video! « Follow My Film - August 29, 2012

    […] pre-producing our feature film in Indiana, Joletta and I are pitching our needs at house parties.  In past parties, we screened one of my […]

  7. Indiana Feature Film Teaser Video! « Follow My Film - August 29, 2012

    […] pre-producing our feature film in Indiana, Joletta and I are pitching our needs at house parties.  In past parties, we screened one of my […]

  8. Farm Hunting In Indiana « Follow My Film - August 20, 2012

    […] because I’m in Indiana working on my current feature film project.  In case you don’t remember, it’s a love story set on an Indiana farm, which we will […]

  9. We Must Write Dangerously « Follow My Film - June 28, 2012

    […] I’ve been writing my current feature-length script, I’ve been struggling with convention versus personal innovation.  I continually find myself […]

  10. Maybe I Suck… « Follow My Film - May 25, 2012

    […] I rewrite my latest feature length script, I’m feeling more and more like I suck!  I find myself questioning my talent on a daily […]

Leave a Reply

