What Do You Think I Should Do Next?

3 May

As you may know, my first feature film, Girlfriend 19, is under consideration at various film festivals and I am now currently writing my next feature film script, which will be filmed in August, 2013.  This means that I may have time to work on a smaller project this Fall.  So what do you think I should do?

To help you, I thought I’d share my current goals as a filmmaker:

  1. Sharpen my scriptwriting and directing skills.
  2. Cultivate my personal voice and vision as a film artist.
  3. Broaden my professional network.
  4. Improve my professional resume.
  5. Share my work with family, friends and beyond.
  6. Have fun!

The key to whatever I do is to keep things simple, mainly in scope of production.  I need to work on projects that will be completed from start to finish within two to three months.  And, of course, I need to keep costs down.

Here are four possibilities that I’ve thought of:

  1. Another round of 7 Films, 7 Weeks, except this time, I would constrain myself a lot more, e.g., each film can only be one shot and no longer than five minutes!
  2. Create and produce a web series with 4 – 6 short episodes (this would have to be a collaborative writing venture).
  3. Make three thirty-second television commercials.
  4. Write and direct one highly developed short film.

So what do you think?  There definitely are pros and cons of each, which is why I’m confused.  Because I don’t get much paid work, it might behoove me to create more commercial material; I don’t know…  But then again, as primarily a narrative filmmaker, and a new one at that, I feel it might be best to continue developing my personal, artistic craft….  Or, perhaps, you may think of another possibility?

I really would love your feedback!

12 Responses to “What Do You Think I Should Do Next?”

  1. Miguel N. May 22, 2012 at 12:32 am #

    I enjoyed the 7 films, but now I’ll like to see a web series. I’ll love to follow it week by week.

  2. Caitlin Rose Williams May 4, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    I would love to see a short film or web series.

  3. Melissa May 3, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    I wouldn’t mind another delightful round of 7 films!

  4. Jim May 3, 2012 at 7:14 am #

    I think that one way to advance the goals you list would be to work on other filmmakers’ projects. I always try to find a way to help / get on set with local filmmakers – some of whom I barely know – because I always learn something. The polite way of putting it is that it’s much easier to see a mistake made by another director than to see your own when you make them. Seeing how lack of planning wastes everyone’s time; seeing folks focus on secondary things and miss key aspects of the performance. So, helping others is a wonderful way to learn. It has the additional virtue of broadening your circle of professional and/or indie contacts and making “deposits in the favor bank” which is pretty important in my neighborhood (the Triangle section of North Carolina).

    You mention that you don’t get much paid work. I’m not sure if you would be trying to get work as a director or as a camera guy or what. I’m finding that the paid work I get helps keep some of my skills sharp. I do video production on a very small scale for a variety of folks. I don’t shoot my own films anymore, but it all helps me remain aware of the fundamental issue of getting the image captured. So my general advice is that paid work in the same general zone is not a distraction – generating income from a related / same skill set is a good thing and supports your art. (I draw the line at shooting weddings!! never have, never will!!)

    I’m in pre-production / rehearsal on my next short film. I’m thinking that my next cycle of work after this is going to be a writing cycle, not a production cycle. Since you mention you are currently writing the next film, perhaps focussing all your energy on that (and the family and fun) is enough. We all know that it’s all about script and story.

    • Christopher May 3, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

      Always good to hear from you, Jim. You’ve mentioned helping others out before and it’s always a good reminder. I tend to get caught up in my own world and forget that there are projects being made all around me, especially here in LA. That being said, I am currently helping someone on their comedic web series and will actually be directing an upcoming episode. It really is a great way to broaden one’s network, as you mention!

      As far as paid work goes, I am striving to be hired as a director. Not primarily, but as a support to my personal ventures. Of course, I would need to have some genuine interest in the work-for-hire, but I am open to purely commercial work. There really is a lot of artistry these days within the commercial world, so if I’m ever asked to make a “Christopher J. Boghosian” Pepsi commercial, I’ll do it. But for now, I do make some money in production, mainly corporate and event videography, which, as you mention, does help keep my skills sharp.

      And your suggestion to perhaps focus on the writing and family is a good one. I will definitely keep that option on the table, since it encapsulates the most important things!

  5. Danny Redfern Holme May 3, 2012 at 5:30 am #

    Though I don’t have much feedback or direct advice, I find what you’re doing really generous. To share with others what you’re planning and opening up communication like this I think will be really beneficial to you and others (ie me!)
    I’m an actor and amateur film maker, who wants to do more in film. Seeing what you aim to do is helping me consider my career, I really appreciate it! I think Sajib is right, if you haven’t already, perhaps consider outside learning. Meeting with others, Raindance courses etc?
    Lastly, I was a real fan of 7 Films in 7 Weeks – both the idea and the productions! It excites me to see what you will produce with another go. May I once again extend my support to you.

    • Christopher May 3, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

      Thank you so much, Danny! Wow, way encouraging… I’m so happy that my process is a benefit to you. Honestly, I started this blog with the sole intention of promoting my feature film project, but it really has turned into something so much more. I barely mention that film now. What I really enjoy is connecting with my peers like you and encouraging one another. So I really appreciate your comment.

      And I’m thrilled that you enjoyed 7 FILMS. I really am itching to do it again, so maybe!

  6. Sajib May 3, 2012 at 2:07 am #

    I’d ask for some short tutorials on filmmaking and post-production. :P

    • Christopher May 3, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

      That’s really interesting, Sajib! There really are a lot of tutorials out there; however, people have always told me that I’m a good teacher, so perhaps I ought to give it a try. And it can even turn into a profitable venture, who knows. I’m glad you mentioned it, since I did not think of tutorials. I’ll definitely give it more thought…

Leave a Reply

