The True Artist Reveals…

25 Jun

I’m going to post a favorite quote each day this week,

beginning with the one below by artist, Bruce Nauman.

Art is all about enlightenment, for the artist first, and his/her audience second.

Journalism communicates current events.  Science communicates natural law.  And art communicates “mystic” truths, the stuff beneath the surface; the stuff that keeps me awake at night.

This and the remaining quotes I share this week have made a significant impact on me and I hope they speak to you too.

  I’d love to hear what you think.  And I hope you broaden their reach by passing them on to others you feel will appreciate them… 

3 Responses to “The True Artist Reveals…”

  1. Amir Teymouri June 28, 2012 at 6:59 am #

    Thats an interesting quote on film making. I never thought of it in terms of communicating “mystic” truths before, but yah….i buy it.

  2. smkelly8 June 26, 2012 at 7:59 am #

    This reminds me of the talk Dallas Willard gave Act One Writers in 2005. There’s a big difference between entertainment, which amuses, and art, which can transform, heal, enlighten and delight. I just read a letter (yes, a letter) from a relative and she mentioned the dearth of good films. There’s something wrong with a culture that has so many people seeking a good film and seeing nothing’s out there that appeals.

    • Christopher June 26, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      OMG, Susan! I’ve been wanting Dallas’ talk on tape for quite some time now. You are so right!!!! Is there any way, you think, we can find out if someone recorded it and can share it? I’ll post something on the Act One Alumni FB group now.

      Thanks for sharing. Always good to hear from you! And please tell your relative that you know a guy working no a very wholesome, but not cheesy, love story set on an Indiana farm!!!!

Leave a Reply

