Farm Hunting In Indiana

20 Aug

You may have notice (hopefully!) that I haven’t posted in a couple of weeks.

That’s because I’m in Indiana working on my current feature film project.  In case you don’t remember, it’s a love story set on an Indiana farm, which we will film during Summer, 2013.  My wife, Joletta, is producing the film and I am writing and directing. 

We are currently location scouting in Indiana and meeting potential collaborators and financial donors.  It has been a promising trip so far.

One of our biggest needs for the film is the main location, a farm that needs to be rather large and very well-maintained.  Joletta and I have driven hundreds of miles with a map while taking note of potential farms.  We have found about six we are excited about so far.  Below are pictures of three of them!

I will be posting more about our Indiana film as more unravels.  Thank you!!!!

 

14 Responses to “Farm Hunting In Indiana”

  1. Mark Stolaroff August 27, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    Beautiful! #1 gets my vote. Have they not been hit hard by the drought there?

    • Christopher August 29, 2012 at 7:18 am #

      They have been hit hard by the draught, Mark, for sure… They are expecting a 50% or less yield this year, on average. The corn in most parts looks pathetic – it really is sad. But farmers are the toughest SOBs around – seriously. Not only are their hands and feet hardened by hard work and the weather, but so are their souls…..

      So yeah, #1 is freaking awesome and we have a connection so far!

  2. soniagrace August 23, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    Gorgeous pics…locations. They look like postcards. Miss Simon :(

    • Christopher August 29, 2012 at 7:16 am #

      Thanks for the comments, Sonia. I didn’t know you get my updates! Yes, it really is picturesque out here. I really want to spend a week or two in the future with a camera and take still photos like I used to. The space demands it.

      Simon will be home on Saturday!

  3. justinbessler August 22, 2012 at 5:34 am #

    Very exciting! If I’m not mistaken, Wabash County is a tidbit unglaciated, so there should be some gentle hills in the area. Great landscapes… This is potentially a “character” in the film, then?

    • Christopher August 29, 2012 at 7:15 am #

      Sorry for the late reply, Justin!!! And thanks for the comment. Yes, the farm is a crucial “character” in the film. It is the single most important location in the film and perhaps one of the biggest challenges in pre-production. Joletta and I are literally driving through Wabash County with a map and a highlighter taking notes. In fact, I’m going to hit the road alone today!!!!

  4. Jeffrey Travis August 21, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    These looks beautiful Chris. It makes me look forward to seeing the film.

  5. sam curphey August 20, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    Beautiful Country!

    • Christopher August 21, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

      Absolutely, Sam. You’d be amazing how often folks around here take the beauty of their surroundings for granted. It’s like me and the Foothills in So. Cal. I keep telling everyone how beautiful it is and they look at me like I’m nuts! LOL But people around here are very proud of their landscape…

  6. Tina August 20, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    I love the contrast on the green house with the red barn. Vivid colors too. Nice.

    • Christopher August 21, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

      Totally, Tina. I absolutely fell in love with the green farmhouse barn. I seriously kept staring at it. So far, we have found a personal connection to the owners, so maybe!!!!

  7. RR August 20, 2012 at 5:35 am #

    How exciting!!!!! Wow impressed!!!!

Leave a Reply

