Stay the Hell Out of the Way!

2 Oct

The most exhilarating part of writing a script is when “your” characters begin to speak on their own and do things on their own initiative, demanding that you get the hell out of their way!

Such has been my experience lately while writing my current feature film script.  Don’t get me wrong, I end up in the way quite often, but more and more, I am able to observe and notate my characters rather than dictate, manipulate and contrive.  

In many ways, this process is much like a spiritual discipline, where the faithful submits themselves to a higher power, following its lead.

My higher power?  In the case of screenwriting: the characters!

Leave a Reply

