Reconnecting with Photography

24 Jan

While walking through a meadow in Santa Cruz, California on my way home after a sociology class, I paused to soak in the beauty before me. Being much higher than sea level, my eyes were led by the lush expanse of tall grass out to the crystalline waters of Monterey Bay. “This would be an incredible photo,” I thought.

The very next day I bought a manual Vivitar 35mm film camera with a 50mm lens for $150.

Though cinema is a form of photography, it differs greatly from its static predecessor. With the inclusion of sound, performance, narrative, and all its other elements, cinema is arguably more “dynamic” than still photography; nonetheless, the latter has a power of its own – it’s ability to bring focus to one millisecond in time, one emotion, one expression, one…

I will be launching a still photography business in the coming months. My emphasis will be portraiture; however, I will be open to where the venture leads me in terms of style and content. But first thing, first: I need to hone in on my still photography skills. Though I processed negatives and made prints in my own darkroom for years, digital photography is a much different beast which I need to tame before working for hire.

In the month of February, I am going to post one image per day. Each image will be of something we take for granted in life, like a fork or a hand. And each image will be stylistically and technically different. I will include brief notes with each image for those interested in my stylistic and technical approach.

Looking forward to sharing this project with you!!! In the meantime, here’s a still photo I recently took of my son, Simon…

IMG_0646

10 Responses to “Reconnecting with Photography”

  1. smkelly8 August 10, 2013 at 7:20 am #

    Worthy of a Freshly Pressed in my opinion.

  2. Mark Stolaroff January 28, 2013 at 1:27 am #

    That’s a great shot. And he really IS growing up!

  3. Dennis Briner January 24, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

    Simon is so cute!! And getting big!

    • Christopher January 24, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

      It really is incredible. The other day I glanced at him and immediately thought, “Wow…he’s a boy.” (Versus a baby!)

  4. onfoodandfilm.com January 24, 2013 at 10:12 am #

    Great idea, looking forward to seeing all the pics. BTW, you were ‘freshly pressed’ on WordPress this morning!

    • Christopher January 24, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

      Thanks, Tom! I’m pretty excited about it. And I checked the Freshly Pressed list and I didn’t see my blog on there. Hmmmm….

      • onfoodandfilm.com January 26, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

        It is only on there pretty quick, as they keep getting replaced over and over.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Change of Plans « Follow My Film - January 30, 2013

    […] week I announced that I will be posting one photograph a day through the month of February for the sake of […]

Leave a Reply

