Encouragement is Electric

6 Mar

The further I traverse through the shadowy cave of creativity, the more I value encouragement.

Encouragement literally means to fill someone with courage, hope, confidence; to hearten.  Encouragement is spiritual defibrillation; a positive shock to the soul, a revival, a jolt of energy onward.

A friend encouraged me this morning at this very taxing time in my life.  He didn’t need to do it, but he did.  He chose to transcend his ego, denying the commonly held, unconscious belief that encouragement is a limited good.  No – he shared selflessly.

Encouragement is electric.  Like receiving a shock to the system with electronically charged paddles; shivers ran through my body as I read my friend’s generous email.

Encouragement is life-giving.  Imagine a world with more of it: more people heartened to do what they need to do.

Fortunately, there is an infinite surplus of encouragement to freely share with others…

3 Responses to “Encouragement is Electric”

  1. Sharon March 6, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

    Nice!

  2. Juli Jackson March 6, 2013 at 9:02 am #

    I had a similar experience yesterday! A friend sent me a package in the mail. It was an organizing folder he had picked up in Japan but it literally changed my whole perspective on the day to be encouraged.
    And I’ll remember that feeling everytime I use it. Here’s a photo because I had to share. http://instagr.am/p/Wfc-riNuoh/

    • Christopher March 6, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

      Awesome, Juli! It’s always great to hear from you and what a cool story – thanks for sharing. It really is so meaningful when folks do wonderful things for one another just because…

Leave a Reply

